РУС | ENG
Previous Forums » 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

BIOGRAPHY

Jovan Kurbalija — UN Secretary- General’s High-level Pannel on Digital Cooperation

Jovan Kurbalija, founding director of DiploFoundation.

Dr Jovan Kurbalija is the founding director of DiploFoundation and head of the Geneva Internet Platform. A former diplomat, his professional and academic background is in international law, diplomacy, and information technology. In 1992, he established the Unit for Information Technology and Diplomacy at the Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies in Malta. After more than ten years of training, research, and publishing, in 2002 the Unit evolved into DiploFoundation.

Since 1994, Dr Kurbalija has been teaching courses on the impact of ICT/Internet on diplomacy and Internet governance. Currently, he is visiting lecturer at the College of Europe in Bruges, Belgium, and the University of St Gallen, Switzerland. He has lectured at the Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies in Malta, the Vienna Diplomatic Academy in Austria, the Dutch Institute of International Relations (Clingendael), the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland, the UN System Staff College, Torino, Italy, and the University of Southern California, in Los Angeles. He conceptualised and has directed DiploFoundation’s Internet Governance Capacity Building Programme since 2005. Dr Kurbalija’s main research interests include the development of an international regime for the Internet, the use of the Internet in diplomacy and modern negotiations, and the impact of the Internet on modern international relations.

Dr Kurbalija has published and edited numerous books, articles, and chapters, including: The Internet Guide for Diplomats, Knowledge and Diplomacy, The Influence of IT on Diplomatic Practice, Information Technology and the Diplomatic Services of Developing Countries, Modern Diplomacy, and Language and Diplomacy. With Stefano Baldi and Eduardo Gelbstein, he co- authored the Information Society Library, a set of eight booklets covering a wide range of Internet-related developments.

To speakers list

РУС | ENG
Прежние форумы » 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

БИОГРАФИЯ

Йован Курбалийя — Группа высокого уровня Генерального секретаря ООН по цифровому сотрудничеству

Директор фонда DiploFoundation.

Йован Курбалийя является основателем и директором фонда DiploFoundation, а также главой Geneva Internet Platform (GIP). В прошлом профессиональный дипломат, он имеет опыт работы и исследований в области права, дипломатии и информационных технологий. В 1992 г. Й. Курбалийя создал Центр по информационным технологиям и дипломатии в Средиземноморской академии дипломатических исследований на Мальте. После более чем десяти лет успешной работы в сфере обучения, исследований и подготовки публикаций в 2003 г. Центр превратился в фонд DiploFoundation.

С 1994 г. доктор Курбалийя ведет курсы по влиянию ИКТ/Интернета на дипломатию и по управлению Интернетом. В настоящее время он читает лекции в Европейском колледже в Брюгге, Бельгия, а также в Университете Санкт-Галлена в Швейцарии. Раньше он преподавал в Средиземноморской академии дипломатических исследований на Мальте, Венской дипломатической академии в Австрии, Нидерландском институте международных отношений (Клингендал), Институте международных исследований и проблем развития в Женеве, Швейцария, Колледже персонала системы ООН в Турине, Италия, и Университете Южной Калифорнии в Лос- Анжелесе. Он разработал и в настоящее время возглавляет «Программу развития потенциала в области управления Интернетом» DiploFoundation (с 2005 г.). Основные исследовательские интересы доктора Курбалийи: становление международного режима Интернета, использование Интернета в дипломатии и переговорах, влияние Интернета на современные международные отношения.

Доктор Курбалийя — автор и редактор многочисленных книг, статей и глав. Среди его работ «Руководство по Интернету для дипломатов», «Знания и дипломатия», «Влияние информационных технологий на дипломатическую практику», «Информационные технологии и дипломатическая служба развивающихся стран», «Современная дипломатия» и «Язык и дипломатия». Совместно со Стефано Балди и Эдуардо Гелбстайном он является автором «Библиотеки информационного общества», серии из восьми брошюр, рассматривающих широкий спектр различных вопросов, связанных с Интернетом.

К списку докладчиков